Myself & Divya Desams

Apologies for bringing up this article very late. Ideally this should have been my first blog post before introducing you to the various of my travel registers to Divya Desam.

I am totally surprised by my undertaking to visit all these 108 divya desams. It came as a flash on my mind while returning from Sri Rangam. I have been to Sri Rangam numerous times and never earlier had such a thought aroused. On the 3rd of April 2016, post-visit to Sri Rangam, this idea of visiting these 108 temples struck my head. Was it a random thought or destiny or God’s way; well, I have no idea what it was. But it had happened. I browsed through the temple list and I found it to be highly feasible to complete. Though temples in the north of India required extensive planning, the rest 80-90% of the temples are located in the southern part of India. So, hope was much bright and so I started this visit.

The initial start was difficult. Let it be anywhere or anything, it is the initiation that requires more attitude to pursue. Once started, the rest just flows with you. Following SriRangam, since I happened to be in Chennai, I started with the divya desams around the city.

Brief introductory details:

Location

  • India – 105
  • Nepal – 1
  • Celestial world – 2

Direction of deity

  • Facing East – 79
  • Facing West – 19
  • Facing North –  3
  • Facing South – 7

Postures

  • Kidantha Thirukkolam (Sleeping posture) – 27
  • Irundha Thirukkolam (Sitting posture) – 21
  • Nindra Thirukkolam (Standing posture) – 60

For more elaborate details: http://pedia.desibantu.com/divyadesams/

Happy reading, Kowtham Kumar K

 

Leave a Reply

