Courtesy & Responsibility

20130226_125733

Friendship. One of the most beautiful relationships ever. The magic that it can spin in your life would always be unimaginable and unexpected too. Here is my experience on how that magic occurred to me.

Summer Internship is a part of every college curriculum. I had to apply for one this year. Unfortunately, my internship was not supported by my institution citing the reasons for my poor performance in my semester examinations. Furthermore, they asked me to pursue an internship in a company of their choice, if I wish to remain under the aegis of my university. The company that they offered was totally out-of-my interest. I was totally down, since I had very less time to look for my own internship.

Here is where my friend came to the rescue. He stayed with me for nearly two weeks, helped me out in my most stresses times, in doing the procedures for the application of my internship. He did all this help, in spite of the fact that, he was also facing some problems with his internship. He took me under his care and did the most timely help ever. I had no words to thank him and I said the same to him. He replied me in one sentence, “PAY IT FORWARD”.

The true example of how a friend and human must be.


Nov 8, 2012: Terminal 1D, New Delhi Domestic Airport

Was awaiting the boarding call for my flight to Coimbatore (6E 385). A foreign teen passed by. He had failed to notice that his take-away-bag was torn. He had dropped his sandwich. The people who were nearby were calling that boy, who had his headphones ON. I just picked up the sandwich, went to him, tapped his shoulders. He removed his headphones and turned back to me. I handed over the sandwich to him & told that his paper bag was torn. His father, who was nearby, thanked me profusely (Thank you very much. It was so kind of you…& so on). It was totally unusual for me. When doing such a help, most of the people in India, say a THANKS or THANK YOU. That’s it. I have not heard the word THANK YOU VERY MUCH for years. This is just as an instance. What I really wanted to convey is in the following paragraph.

The reason why i am saying this is that, I came to read this article recently. (Linkhttp://www.readersdigest.ca/health/relationships/how-polite-are-we). I was surprised to find that they are many such small things around us, which actually matter the most, but are hardly noticed. Mutual respect & courtesy is the basic for mankind. Wearing a “BEING HUMAN” shirt, doesn’t really make you one ? Until, you are courteous enough. I am not against anyone. I am not picking holes in other’s pocket, but the fact is, we can’t remain unchanged. I felt really bad, when i found Mumbai down the list. So, kindly check your courteous level & revamp yourself soon. It’s just a suggestion. I have my right to pen my opinions & you also have the equal rights to decide upon it. Hope, I conveyed this message in the most COURTEOUS manner. If not, kindly let me know, LET ME BE THE FIRST ONE TO CHANGE.

“Be the change, you wish to see in this world” – Mahatma Gandhi

COURTESY CHeCK POiNts:

(these are some suggestions that I felt like sharing)

# While getting into the elevator, and it is even more courteous in stepping out without any hesitation when it says ‘OVERLOAD’

# Checking if anyone is behind you, while letting go the swing door. They might be having baggage, which would make them difficult in handling the door

Live & Let Live. Cheers


 

Responsiblities & Inspirations

People often come up with this question to you. ‘Who is your inspiration’ or ‘Who is your role-model’ ?. Hope you would have given different names to these same question. If you still persist that, you always give the same name of a leader or celebrity or whomsoever, then I have an another question ready for you.

‘If he/she is your inspiration, then would you let me know to what extent have you practiced or implemented the inspired characteristic ?’ 

This might be a tricky question for you. Most of you might give me an diplomatic answer. Well, lets keep this thing aside for now. Let me propose to you on what I feel about inspirations and how to get more responsible.

The need for inspiration lies in the very fact that nobody is perfect. Everybody over their lifetime are trying to pursue their way towards perfection. Perfection. It is a trait that could never be attained. It’s just a reference. As a matter of fact, all your inspirations are not perfect too. They are less imperfect than you in certain qualities. That’s it. Stressing on the word ‘less imperfect’. I am using this word here because it suits and sounds much better.

Firstly, I do not think that any particular individual would be a complete package of inspiration for you. If you are a businessman, then you might have the leading business tycoons as your role-models. But that is confined only to your field of expertise. But you also don roles such as a citizen, a father/mother, a brother, a human and so on. For these various shades of your life, where are you drawing sense of  responsibilities from ?

‘Water, water everywhere. But no water to drink’. In the same manner, inspirations are everywhere. We hardly notice them. Inspirations can be drawn even when someone is doing a small deed. Say for example, specifically searching for a garbage bin to throw your emptied tin coke (assuming the place to be a crowded street in India).  Let us learn from him. How often have we done those ? or to say, how often have you thought of doing so ?. Drink a tin coke, throw it wherever you feel and then walk away. That’s what most people do. Still they would blame that the city is unclean. Basics start within our-self. It just requires a little responsibility, which may claim to possess but they actually don’t.

Things like these are inspirations too. It is like a chain reaction. You learn from someone. Someone might learn from you too. Who knows ? It is said that Mr.Gandhi transformed himself for better after watching a movie ‘HARICHANDRA’. Considering the movie as the factor, then all the people who had watched it must change too. Is it not ? But only Gandhi did. Self-realization it is. Self-evaluation too. It is within you. Tap it. Live with it. Practice it. It will never go unnoticed. Remember ‘Bad things travel fast. Good deeds take more time to create an impact’. So, kindly pursue towards it. Sooner or later, you would be very glad when you see someone else doing the deed that you had wished/thrived for.

People are noticed you. You are watched every second. You are leaving an impact wherever you go which we are unaware of. Start being less imperfect. Less irresponsible. Spread the fire. Cheers.

6 thoughts on “Courtesy & Responsibility

  1. Well said KKK.. but this has become our identity.. we do not believe in ‘niceties’.. its not that it is genetic also.. You should see Indians abroad.. they are equally polite and courteous.. but the moment they step into the Indian airport their attitudes change ! We have a long way to go..

  2. Wearing a “BEING HUMAN” shirt, doesn’t really make you one ? Until, you are courteous enough. – well said …superb 🙂

  3. Hope, I conveyed this message in the most COURTEOUS manner. If not, kindly let me know, LET ME BE THE FIRST ONE TO CHANGE.—- U were couteous enough to say that. Truly depicts your humble nature . Thank you very much for posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

